Tags

, , , ,

So, dear weatherman, what have you done to winter? Where was it? It’s now end of March and we’ve only seen snow once. This must be the mildest winter I’ve ever spent in the Netherlands, and I’ve been here for 5 years now. Maybe it figured that the Dutch (you can replace this by any other European country) government can’t deal with any amount of snow (rain is already challenging enough), so it just decided to give us a break. Although I was born in the winter (New Year’s Day to be more precise – I know, I know…) I must be the most winter-loathing person ever. What I find particularly annoying about winter is the never-ending dressing, undressing, redressing whenever I have to go outside. This self-mummifying – demummifying issue has been responsible for many evenings spent at home eating lasagna and drinking mulled wine in the past. So don’t get me wrong, I’m definitely not complaining, as I’m actually quite happy with the no-winter situation.

My little polar bear, however, looks like he would have enjoyed a little bit more snow this winter… 

